Top Pedestrian Safety FAQs

Is jaywalking illegal in Hawaii?
Jaywalking, or crossing a road outside of a crosswalk or away from a street corner, is against the law in Hawaii. If you receive a citation for jaywalking, you could face a fine of $130. Pedestrians can also face a $130 fine for entering a roadway when a traffic light is red.
When are pedestrian accidents most likely to happen?
In the United States, most pedestrian injuries occur between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Most pedestrian fatalities occur at night, between 5:30 p.m. and 11 p.m. According to researchers at Arizona State University, most pedestrian-vehicle accidents happen on Fridays and Saturdays.
How does Hawaii’s no-fault auto insurance system affect a pedestrian accident claim?
Hawaii is a no-fault state. When a driver is involved in a crash, they generally turn to their own insurance company to cover the costs of their injuries. Pedestrians can seek compensation from their own insurer if the driver is uninsured.
Can I file a pedestrian accident lawsuit?
If you sustain serious or catastrophic injuries, Hawaii law allows you to step outside the no-fault system and file a personal injury lawsuit. To qualify, your injury must meet the state’s serious injury threshold, which happens when your medical bills exceed $5,000 and you suffer a serious or permanent injury.
Get Your Free Consulation

Video Chat Checkbox